Crack field will contest 2021 Battle of the Bridge at Murray Bridge Speedway

Sprintcar action will return to the venue this Saturday night.

This post was contributed by MMS Media.

Sprintcar action will return to the Murray Bridge Speedway this Saturday for the annual Bill Wigzell Battle of the Bridge.

Venue administrator Darren Shaddock said 19 cars would line up for the event.

“We’re excited to see sprintcars back at MMSS,” he said.

“It is fantastic to see our sprintcar drivers back this early in the season, and we thank them for their support.”

Matt Egel will be one to watch after a successful campaign in the NT, while the local challengers will include the likes of Ryan Jones, Brad Keller, Daniel Pestka and Steven Caruso.

Luke Dillon will also return as Murray Bridge’s final feature race winner from the 2020-21 season, while speedway all-round driver Ryan Alexander will step into the sprintcar ranks.

Brock Hallett, Paul Solomon and Troy Hose represent the interstate contingent.

Street stocks will also run on the night, along with junior sedans and classic super modifieds.

Wingless sprints will round out the program, with a rookie development session for first- and second-year drivers.

“Wingless sprints are an ever-growing category in South Australia,” Shaddock said.

“The rookie development session, in conjunction with Wingless Sprints South Australia, is designed to give new drivers more track time so they can gain more experience without the pressure of what can often be a 30-car field on any other race night.”

360 sprintcars were also due to run on the program, but were an unfortunate omission due to the number of nominations received.

Gates will open at 4.30pm ahead of a 6pm start.

You can help keep local stories like this one free for everyone to read. Subscribe to Murray Bridge News today and support your independent, locally owned news service, plus get access to exclusive stories you won’t find anywhere else, for just $5.50 a month.