Soroptimist International Murray Bridge celebrates 40 years

The service club has awarded two life memberships at a function at the Bridgeport Hotel.

Eight past presidents of Soroptimist International Murray Bridge, and incumbent president Carol Bath, attend a 40th anniversary lunch earlier this month. Photo: Soroptimist International Murray Bridge.

Murray Bridge’s Soroptimists have celebrated 40 years spent transforming the lives of women and girls.

Members of the local Soroptimist International club gathered at the Bridgeport Hotel for lunch on August 22.

Among them were nine past presidents and more than 70 past and present members from around South Australia.

New life members Natalie Hay and Ann Scutchings cut a cake at the 40th anniversary lunch, flanked by current members. Photo: Soroptimist International Murray Bridge.

Special recognition was given to Natalie Hay and Ann Scutchings, each of whom was awarded life membership.

The pair had each given more than 35 years of service in various positions.

Attendees also heard from former Soroptimist International Murray Bridge scholarship recipient Elyse Marx, now a doctor at Bridge Clinic, who spoke about her dream of practising medicine in Antarctica.

Scholarship applications now open

Club president Carol Bath encouraged current year 12 students – female or male – to apply for the same scholarship this year.

The Soroptimists will present a cheque for $2000, with no strings attached, to a student from a school in the Murraylands when they start their tertiary studies.

Entries will be judged on academic achievement, personal qualities and community involvement.

Application forms are available from year 12 coordinators at local schools.

Applications should be submitted by 4pm on December 6, ahead of a round of interviews next January.

About Soroptimist International Murray Bridge

Soroptimist International is a service club for professional women which exists to better the lives of women and girls around the world.

It has more than 75,000 members in 132 countries and territories, according to Soroptimist International South Australia.

The Murray Bridge club was founded in 1981, with Glad Bonsor as its inaugural president.

Its first office-bearers included Dorothy Ebel, Irene Jaensch, Carolyn Anderson and Joan Barker, and then-Mayor Ronda Minge was among its founding members.

You can help keep local stories like this one free for everyone to read. Subscribe to Murray Bridge News today and support your independent, locally owned news service, plus get access to exclusive stories you won’t find anywhere else, for just $5.50 a month.