'This is their first stepping stone': River Murray netball's future takes shape

The players selected to represent the River Murray Netball Association at Woodside in May, and in the SA Country Championships in June, have been chosen.

This story was originally published behind Murray Bridge News’ paywall. Paywalled stories are unlocked four weeks after publication. Can’t wait that long? Subscribe here.

Under-13 team members Porsha Marchetti, Millicent Manning, Alearah Harradine, Leah Anderson-Morris, Yasmin Harrowfield, Reagan Martin, Jemma Zadow, Ava Schubert, Demi Harrington and Ariel Challinger with coach Murrianna Reese and representatives of sponsors Inner Soul and Daish Irrigation. Photo: Peri Strathearn.

These faces represent the future of the River Murray Netball Association.

On a cool Wednesday evening at Johnstone Park, Murray Bridge, the players who will represent the River Murray at representative carnivals this season were announced.

One by one, each filed up to receive an association jumper.

Rep team coordinator Lauren Nolan congratulated all the girls: “You’re competing against the best of the best, so you should be proud of yourselves”.

The squads of 10, plus four reserves, were selected a week ago following two trial days in late March.

They will represent the River Murray at a carnival at Woodside on May 23, then at the SA Country Championships in Adelaide on June 12-14.

The RMNA’s Murrianna Reese said the selection process for the younger players – the ones most likely to grab the attention of academy recruiters at the two events – had been competitive.

“For the under-13s in particular, this is their first stepping stone into whether they are going to have a career in netball,” she said.

“Either way, it’s a great experience for their development, playing for other coaches and in other teams.”

Under-15 team members Georgia DeMichele, Ava Lindner, Sophie Edwards, Olivia Eldridge, Narelle Griffiths, Mia Perriman, Georgia Martin, Makayla Stimpson, Kyla Jarvis and Charlotte Harris with Denise Edwards, Leonie Capes and the sponsors. Photo: Peri Strathearn.
Under-17 team members Trinity Manning, Imogen Allen, Brianah Griffiths, Piper Wegener, Bella Schubert and Elise Horstmann with Andrea Wegener and the sponsors. Absent were Jayda Stimpson, Sienna Daniell and Meaghan Lewis.
Senior team members Phoebe Wegener, Jaelee Tabe, Kellie McGorman, Alisha Barton and Lucy O’Neil with the sponsors. Absent were Gemma Horstmann, Taylor Poole, Jemma Woolard and Molly Adler.