Sports reports: Jack McCarthy makes it two in a row at Murray Bridge Speedway

Plus the latest in Murray Bridge rifle shooting and lawn tennis.

This post includes contributions from MMS Media, Murray Bridge Rifle Club’s Daniel Irvine and Murray Bridge Lawn Tennis Association’s Graham Buttle.

Jack McCarthy crosses the finish line during Saturday night’s wingless sprints feature event at Murray Bridge Speedway. Photo: Ray Ritter/KNJ Photography.

Jack McCarthy has emerged as the big winner at the fourth meeting at Murray Bridge Speedway for the season.

With 33 cars in the wingless sprint feature, the competition was hot, but the challengers couldn’t stop McCarthy from winning his second feature in a row.

After starting on the pole, Rhys Heinrich had to settle for second, with Ryan Alexander completing the podium.

Tyson Martin finished fourth ahead of William Caruso, who recorded a season-best fifth; Brett Ireland returned to form with a sixth-placed run ahead of Mitch Broome, Jake Ashworth, Caleb Evans and Cory Hodgson.

In the A-main, Brad Evans rode out a big crash on turn three, with the impact cracking the chassis.

During the B-main, his good mate Darryl Sloan suffered the same fate after contact with Darryl Knuckey sent “the Prez” skyward in the same part of the track.

Earlier the heat winners were Alexander, Heinrich, Caruso, McCarthy, Bronson Mauro and Melissa Crouch.

South East resident Jayden Edwards made a triumphant return to Murray Bridge as he dominated the street stock division, winning both of his heats and then leading all 20 laps in the 10/10 feature event, but the result ended being a lot closer than it should have been due to an incident with lapped traffic on the final corner.

The only other winner on the night was Drew Flatman, who won the heat that Edwards wasn’t part of.

Carey Weston finished second with Craig Buchanan, Drew Flatman and Darren Flatman recording top-five finishes and Anthony Buchanan, Tony Pridaux, Matt Maynard, Ben Weedon, Ryan Buchanan and Jarryd Farrell rounding out the field.

The modlites were on hand for their opening event of the Murray Bridge season; Michael Miller easily won a 20-lap final over Patrick Hewitt and Jacob Carlier.

Rookie Brett Stephens was impressive – he finished fourth – while Justin Chadwick, Brook Alexander and Travis Parry completed the finishers.

After winning the opening two heats, Ryan Alexander was a non-starter due to his wingless sprint commitments.

After a busy start to the season, including three rounds of their state series, formula 500 numbers were slightly reduced but the racing was still of a high quality with Richard Schmidt breaking through for an A-main victory.

Ben Cooper had a solid night, as he finished in the runner-up spot ahead of Brendan Zadow, Corey Jones and Simon Reichelt.

Zadow and Cooper were the heat winners.

Finally, in the junior sedans, Ky McEwin remained undefeated in both heats and the 12-lap final.

Lachlan Brown was the best of the rest while Henry Brumfield, Riley Greig and Lincoln King completed the top five.

The sprintcars will return to Murray Bridge Speedway this Saturday night, November 13, for the Ultimate Pink Night with 17 drivers nominated including Ryan Jones, Matt Egel, Daniel Pestka, Luke Dillon, Glen Sutherland and Hayden Pitt.

The Zeke Agars Classic for V6 sprints will be the major support.

Murray Bridge Rifle Club retains Border-Bridge Shield

The Deed Range at Monarto lay quiet on Saturday as members of Murray Bridge Rifle Club made the trek to Bordertown to shoot against Bordertown Rifle Club for the Border-Bridge Shield.

Both clubs had waited to restart this inter-club competition during a five-year hiatus, but were forced to wait a little bit longer as a heavy downpour delayed the start of proceedings from 600 yards.

But the sun even came out once the two teams had got underway.

Murray Bridge’s Gordon Harrison and Adrian and Karen Conlon made the most of the favourable conditions, each shooting possibles in their first round, including a 60.09 from Adrian.

Rob Paech also was in form, scoring a 49.03.

Bordertown’s best early was Jeff Makin, who also hit the mark with a possible 60.04, closely followed by Sharyn Makin and Les Harris, who both scored 56.01.

After lunch shooters made their way out for a second round.

Murray Bridge continued their good form, but only Karen, shooting as an honorary member and former Bordertown local, managed to achieve a double possible for the day, backing up her 60.05 with a 60.04.

Her husband was also in good form, adding a 59.08 to his first-round possible for an impressive overall score of 119.17.

Jasamine Irvine led the second round for TR shooters, securing a 49.06, just ahead of dad Greg on 48.03 and Paech’s 48.02.

Bordertown wasn’t quite able to match the effort, with Sharyn top-scoring in the second round with a 57.01, husband Jeff scoring a 56.04 and Jack Blackwell a 56.01.

The overall winner was decided using the mixed category scores index, which allowed for the different possible top scores and levels of equipment used.

The overall result was that Murray Bridge Rifle Club retained the Border-Bridge Shield.

The Murray Bridge members thanked the Bordertown members for their generous hospitality and immaculately presented range, while the Bordertown members thanked Murray Bridge for making the trip up the highway.

Everyone agreed that they looked forward to Bordertown visiting Murray Bridge next year.

Thanks were also extended to Chris McDermott, who travelled down to act as range overseer while training and assessing the Bordertown members who were completing their range office training.

Murray Bridge lawn tennis results

Even though the score would suggest otherwise, given the players missing from Schools’ pennants side, those filling in did well even if they were a tad rusty.

No doubles matches were completed due to the rain.


Sportsmen (four sets, 43 games) defeated Swanport (four sets, 41 games)

Postel (eight sets, 48 games) defeated Schools (no sets, 18 games).


Avoca (eight sets, 65 games) defeated Sportsmen (seven sets, 65 games); MVPs: Helayna White (Avoca), Callum Oster (Sportsmen)

Banks (eight sets, 71 games) defeated Swanport (seven sets, 62 games); MVPs: Matilda Baumgurtel (Banks), Eloise Baumgurtel (Swanport)

Coorong (12 sets, 81 games) defeated Murraylands (three sets, 47 games); MVPs: Ruby Thiele (Coorong), Adin Harm (Murraylands)

Murray Bridge News is happy to share news, results or photos from sporting clubs throughout Murray Bridge and the surrounding region, free of charge. Email or call 0419 827 124.

You can help keep local stories like this one free for everyone to read. Subscribe to Murray Bridge News today and support your independent, locally owned news service, plus get access to exclusive stories you won’t find anywhere else, for just $5.50 a month.