New faces appointed to Regional Development Australia board

Meet the building company owner, the university professor and the council CEO chosen to help drive economic growth in the Murraylands.

Petrina Coventry, Bridget Mather and Steven Walker have joined the RDA Murraylands and Riverland board. Photos: Researchgate, Coorong District Council, Twitter.

A building company owner, a professor and a council executive are among the new faces who will represent the Murraylands on the local Regional Development Australia board.

Kookaburra Homes co-owner Steven Walker, University of Adelaide Professor Petrina Coventry and Coorong council CEO Bridget Mather are among five new board appointees announced on Friday.

As board members, they will oversee RDA's efforts to grow the Murraylands and Riverland's economy by attracting and developing high-performing businesses.

Board chair Jodie Hawkes said she was pleased RDA Murraylands and Riverland had been able to attract such a “high-calibre and diverse” board.

“Our new board comprises a wealth of regional leadership, knowledge and skills that span the sectors that are critical to our region’s future,” she said.

Zoos SA’s Elaine Bensted will continue as a board member.

Among those making way for the new appointees are Murray Bridge Self Storage owner Jerry Wilson and Coomandook farmer Garry Hansen.

RDA board members Andrew Kassebaum, Elaine Bensted, Bridget Mather, Chair Jodie Hawkes, Sandy Isoefellis, Margaret Howie, Peter Walker and Steven Walker. Photo: Jennings Media.

You can help keep local stories like this one free for everyone to read. Subscribe to Murray Bridge News today and support your locally owned news outlet, plus get access to exclusive stories you won’t find anywhere else, for just $5.50 a month.