Mypolonga named a finalist in 2021 Ag Town of the Year awards

The fruit-growing and dairying community will face off against Booleroo Centre, Kapunda, Kimba and Orroroo.

Not many towns have their own buffalo dairy – one of several reaons Mypo is up for an ag town of the year award. Photo: Rural City of Murray Bridge/Facebook.

Mypolonga is one of five towns in the running to be named South Australia’s agricultural town of the year for 2021.

Primary Industries and Regional Development Minister David Basham announced it among the finalists on Friday, after more than 3200 public votes whittled down a longer list of candidates.

A six-person judging panel will visit the town next month, including Royal Adelaide Show chief John Rothwell and former Premier Rob Kerin.

“The Mypolonga community has proven resilient in successfully adapting to drought, frost and COVID-19 restrictions, always maintaining their strong community spirit,” the town’s entry said.

“The town has evolved from a traditional orchard and dairy-farming community and is now home to a number of thriving businesses, including the South Australian Buffalo Company, Woodlane Orchard, Bakehouse Farm and Aussie Apricots, among others.

“Mypolonga’s local primary school plays an educative role in business operations, running a local shop within the school, where all students participate in budgeting, advertising and business operations.

“There are also a number of thriving community organisations including the Mypolonga Combined Sports Club and local RSL, as well as the Mypolonga History Museum, which is run by volunteers.”

The other towns in the running are Booleroo Centre, Kapunda, Kimba and Orroroo.

A winner will be announced at a regional showcase event on November 19.

You can help keep local stories like this one free for everyone to read. Subscribe to Murray Bridge News today and support your independent, locally owned news service, plus get access to exclusive stories you won’t find anywhere else, for just $5.50 a month.