Jervois goes three-for-three on RMFL's grand final day

The Bluds are the River Murray's 2020 premiers in the league, reserves and - barely a week after the death of their coach - the under 15s.

This story was originally published behind Murray Bridge News’ paywall. Paywalled stories are unlocked four weeks after publication. Can’t wait that long? Subscribe here.

Cowbells were ringing at Johnstone Park on Saturday as Jervois broke their 13-year premiership drought.

The Bluds got home in by 18 points in the end, 11.14 (80) to 9.8 (62), breaking the game open in the final quarter after scores were tied at three-quarter time.

Imperials had looked imperious at times early on, but rued a few many turnovers in their defensive 50.

For Jervois, the hours of video scouting player-coach Taite Silverlock alluded to post-match paid off.

The players in red and black made the most of their chances and earned their moment of glory.

Peter Zarantonello kicked four for the victors while Luke Kluske, pictured below, was named winner of the Cybulka Medal as best on ground.

William Crane was best on ground for Imps, while Sam DeMichele led the side with three goals.

In the post-match presentations, Silverlock credited Imperials for playing a “massive, hard-fought game” before addressing his teammates.

“This is what it’s all about,” he said.

“You win some, you lose some, but you make sure that you definitely remember these ones.

“No matter what happens, no-one can take this away from this group.”

It had been a tough couple of weeks at the club, he said, after the death of under 15s coach Josh McKeown on September 18.

“Footy’s not everything ... but footy clubs and footy communities are,” he said.

“It’s a massive one, getting this win, and no doubt we’re dedicating it to Joshua.”

He also credited the River Murray league for persevering with its season through the COVID-19 pandemic.

The league win capped a big day for the Jervois Football Club.

McKeown’s under 15s went on to defeat Mannum in their grand final while the reserves also beat Imperials.

The other junior premierships were both won by Tailem Bend, the under 17.5s in a nailbiter and the under 13s in a shellacking of the unfortunate Blues, 12.6 to one behind.

Dani Marsh, Carlie Gibbs and James Lipp with Taryn Brown-Tahitahi and Jess Katae.

Chris Hawkins and Dorothy Kartinyeri.

Ray and Leo Love.

Jo Flett, Cassie Brion, Danielle Wohlschlager and Nicole Cercone.

Tom and Helen Richards.

Brock Finlay, Patrick Hughes, Lee McDonald and Nathan Morrison. Photos: Peri Strathearn.

Give a gift subscription