Big field nominates for wingless sprint event at Murray Bridge Speedway

There'll be modlites, street stocks, junior sedans and classic speedcars this Saturday, too.

This post was contributed by MMS Media.

Wingless sprints top the nomination list for this weekend’s All Sections Club Show at Murray Bridge Speedway, with another standout field of 34 cars nominated.

The class has already produced some close and fast racing so far with two different feature winners.

Jack McCarthy will line up as the last-start winner, while reigning South Australian number one Joel Chadwick will make his first appearance for the season.

Modlites are another division which continues to grow in South Australia, and they will have their first run at Murray Bridge for 2021-22 with a handy 14-car field.

Scott Webb, Patrick Hewitt and Anthony Grillet were just a few of the drivers who were in among the top 10 at the Australian titles held at the venue last season, while Ryan Alexander will be on double duties in the modlites and also the wingless sprints.

In the street stocks, front-runners Nigel Reichstein and Carey Weston will be back, while the formula 500s have also been quick, with Brendan Zadow setting a new eight-lap track record at the last show.

The next generation of stars will be back in the junior sedans, with Henry Brumfield being the one to catch so far this season.

Classic speedcars also return for another demonstration run.

Late models were also originally programmed for the night, but have shifted their race night until the following meeting on Saturday, November 13.

Gates will open at 4pm for a 5pm start, with canteen and bar facilities available on the night.