Year 12s recognised at Murray Bridge High School presentation night

Like the end-of-year dinner held the night before, a different type of celebration was needed to finish off 2020.

This post was contributed by Helen Peake and Murray Bridge High School.

On November 17, Murray Bridge High School held its annual presentation night.

It was a very different night to previous years due to COVID-19 restrictions, but students and parents were all very pleased with how the evening played out.

Parents could live-stream the event from home, or some preferred to view it live from a room set up at the school; while the students were in the drama workshop.

The school band did an excellent job with a trip down memory lane with a rendition of popular ABBA songs, which the audience thoroughly enjoyed.

Brooke Lehmann also took to the stage with a beautifully played solo piano recital.

The evening was emceed ably by year 12 student pathways leader Brock Herdman.

Special awards were presented to students throughout the evening.

Among them was an award for business innovation sponsored by Murray Bridge News Pty Ltd, owner of this website, which was won by James Dordas.

Major awards

ADF Innovation Scholarship: Ilaria Tarasenko

Eileen McHughes-Ursula Crowley Award: Joshua Thorpe

Clair Harrop Memorial Award: Metua Rongo

Mason Lodges Scholarship: Ilaria Tarasenko

Liebelt Award of Excellence: Darcy Elliott

Just Too Deadly awards

Shabbecca Giles-Karpany, Mykayla Ward, Joshua Thorpe, Jordan Tabe, Hayden Carter, Declan Smith, Aislin Aspel, Leon Dunt and Tabitha Hodder

Kiah Edwards receives an award from Murray Bridge Mayor Brenton Lewis; she received a Barker Shield for community service and spirit and the Glad Bonsar Memorial Award. Photo: MBHS.

Special awards

Barker Shield: Brooke Lehmann (academic achievement), Kiah Edwards (community service and spirit), Zella Worden (leadership)

Caltex Best Allrounder: Caitlyn McEvoy

Rotary Service Awards: Ilaria Tarasenko (leadership), Jacob Lavery (community service), Ally Bormann (academic achievement)

Glad Bonsar Memorial Award: Kiah Edwards

Subject prizes

English Literary Studies: Brooke Lehmann

English: Abbie Munoz

Digital Technology: Peter Bormann

Mathematical Methods: Yaozu Liu

Specialist Mathematics: Yaoazu Liu

Business Innovation: James Dordas

Ilaria Tarasenko receives an award from Mr Brenton Lewis; she was recognised for her studies in physics and with an ADF innovation scholarship, Masonic Lodges scholarship and Rotary service award for leadership. Photo: MBHS.

Physics: Ilaria Tarasenko

Chemistry: Zoe Bradley

Biology: Zoe Pica

Drama: Jemmuel Oud

Agriculture Production: Mostyn Payne

Modern History: Zoe Pica

Music: Yaozu Liu

Creative Arts: Jemmuel Oud

Visual Arts: Olivia Carter (art), Abbie Munoz (design)

Physical Education: Ally Bormann

Sports Studies: Ally Bormann

Health: Shakira Ayunon

School-Based Apprenticeship of the Year: Tyler Martin

School-Based Trainee of the Year: Paris Morrell

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year: Mikayla Ward

Vocational Student of the Year: Imogen Caire

Get 14 day free trial